Aloha, Adventure.

byuhawaii

It’s a whole. New. World.

Everything here is different. The highways are narrow, so close to the beach that we can get sprayed by waves, and we go 40 mph, but it’s okay because there is a lot more to look at here! Wild chickens and roosters roam around the island. In fact, one rooster seems to live right outside my window, which was obviously pleasant the first night, but I’m already used to the noise! I found a centipede buddy in the bathroom. My roommates and I found a huge spider buddy in the kitchen. We also lost him under the refrigerator, but it’s not like we all screamed or jumped up onto the counters or anything……The people are laid back and extremely nice. People will just walk up to you and ask you what your name is, where you are from, and bam, you have a new friend. The color palette here is bright and vibrant–the island is just beautiful!

photo 2cropped-laietemple.jpg

The first night was rough. I was missing home. Missing friends. Every little thing was going wrong. I couldn’t find my shorts when it was so hot you could burn yourself to cool off. I lost my roommate at a new student event and found my way home in the dark by myself. I lost my house key (somehow it got into my boot…which I was not wearing…). I let all these little things get to me. I was complaining to myself. I called my mom and complained to her. Basically? I was being a #complainer. Which, if you know me, probably isn’t like me. So, I stopped. Time out. I prayed. Heavenly Father, take all these things and work them out. Put me in a good mood again. Guess what? Prayer works. In this case, instantly. I put my trust in the Lord and I was happy. I found my roommate. I found my key. I found my shorts. I found my good mood. When I woke up the next morning, I opened my Gospel Library app, and it happened to be open to Proverbs 3:26, which, surprise, surprise, is exactly what I needed to hear. Funny how God works those things out for us. It says: “For the Lord shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.” Um, hello. The Lord is my confidence. My Heavenly Father and my best friend Jesus Christ truly want what is best for me. God has it under control, I just had to let go and let Him steer.

 

I have to say, I feel incredibly LOVED. I am so grateful. Hashtag blessed, right? I am so so so thankful for all you friends who made it a point to hang out with me before I left, for those who pulled an all nighter with me, who continued our tradition of eating crappy food before taking each other to airports, who text and message and skype and call me–y’all truly mean the world to me. I feel like I wouldn’t be able to function out here without those wonderful pieces of home!

Thanks for reading! I love you!

photo 5photo 4photo 3

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aloha, Adventure.

Leave a comment